
INSTRUCTIONS FOR CHANGE OF NAME OF A MINOR  

These instructions are a guideline only and should not be considered legal advice.  Applicants are 
encouraged to seek legal counsel as complex issues may arise, including, but not limited to, 
paternity, unknown address for a parent, and custody matters.   

The Clermont County Probate Court has the authority to legally change the name of a minor.  An 
application may only be filed if the minor has been a resident of Clermont County for at least one 
year prior to the filing of an Application for Change of Name of Minor.  A child less than one 
year of age is not eligible for a minor name change.  

An application for change of a minor may only be submitted by a (1) parent, (2) legal guardian, 
or (3) guardian ad litem.  A legal custodian may apply with the Court to be appointed a guardian 
ad litem for the purpose of filing an Application for Change of Name of Minor.  An Application 
to Appoint Guardian Ad Litem for the Purpose of Change of Name of a Minor (Form 21.22) may 
be obtained and filed with the Court for a $25 fee.   

A certified copy of the minor’s birth certificate is required at the time of the initial filing.  
(PLEASE CHECK WITH THE HEALTH DEPARTMENT FOR AN UPDATED BIRTH 
RECORD). 

Complete all documents by filling in the applicable blanks except the Case No., hearing dates, 
and Judge’s signature and certification.   

Current filing fees are $100.  Applicants must pay this fee in cash, check, money order, or 
certified check.   Checks or money orders will be payable to the Clermont County Treasurer. The 
Clermont County Probate Court does not accept credit or debit cards.  

Important Information about Publication:  Ohio law requires that notice of the application, and 
hearing on application, shall be given once by publication in a newspaper of general circulation 
in the County at least thirty (30) days before the hearing on the application. THE NOTICE OF 
HEARING ON CHANGE OF NAME is for this purpose.  The Applicant is responsible for 
ensuring publication.  The Clermont Sun is the designated newspaper for publication of notice. 
The Applicant is responsible for cost of publication.  The Clermont Sun will provide proof of 
publication to the Court. 

If publication is not completed at least thirty (30) days prior to the hearing, the name change 
cannot be granted and re-publication will be required. 

Applicants are required to apply in person and may obtain the forms from the Court at 2379 
Clermont Center Drive Batavia, Ohio or by downloading the forms from the website 
https://probatejuvenile.clermontcountyohio.gov/. 

 

 

 

https://probatejuvenile.clermontcountyohio.gov/


 

PROCEDURAL STEPS FOR FILING  

STEP 1: COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING FORMS FOR THE INITIAL 
FILING 

 

Application for Change of Name of Minor (Form 21.2) 
Please state the minor’s full, current legal name (first, middle, last) and full name 
requested after the change of name (first, middle, last).  The name and addresses of 
both parents must be listed on the application.  The name of the parent on the 
application should match the name listed on the birth certificate.  If the name of the 
father is not listed on the birth certificate and the identity of the father is known, his 
name and address (if known) should be listed and the box marked “alleged father”.  If 
the name of the father is unknown, please mark the box, “There is no person alleged 
to be the father of said minor”.  The Applicant shall initial and mark as appropriate 
the boxes labeled 1) and 2).  The Applicant shall again state the full current legal 
name (first, middle, last) and the proposed name change (first, middle, last) and the 
reason for the name change.  The Applicant shall provide to the Court the Order 
Establishing Paternity, if applicable.   

At the time of 
initial filing 
 

Consent to Change of Name (Form 21.4)  
The Court encourages Applicants to get parental consent to the name change prior to 
the hearing.  Each parent (even if the Applicant is a parent) should complete and have 
notarized a “Consent to Change of Name” and present to the Court for filing.  

At the time of 
initial filing 
or prior to 
hearing 

Notice to Parent (Form 21.21)  
If a parent does not execute a Consent to Change of Name, the Applicant shall 
complete this form.  The original of this Notice shall be served on the non-consenting 
parent by certified mail, returned receipt requested, not later than seven days prior to 
the hearing.  If the certified mail is returned to the Applicant marked “unclaimed” or 
“refused”, the Applicant must serve the non-consenting parent by ordinary mail at 
least seven days prior to the hearing.  The duplicate Notice to Parent shall be filed 
with the Court and shall have the return receipt attached.  If the Notice was sent by 
ordinary United States mail, the envelope showing that the notice was returned 
“unclaimed” or “refused” must be attached. 

Issued at the 
time of initial 
filing and 
returned prior 
to the hearing 
 

Notice of Hearing on the Change of Name (Form 21. 5)  
The Deputy Clerk will provide the Applicant with the hearing date to add to this 
form.  The Applicant shall take this form to The Clermont Sun for publication.  The 
Applicant will be responsible for the cost of publication.  The Clermont Sun will 
provide proof of publication to the Court. If the publication is not completed at least 
thirty (30) days prior to the haring, the name change cannot be granted and re-
publication will be required.  

At the time of 
initial filing  
 

Authorization for Release of Minor Information (Form 272.00) 
The Applicant shall list the minor’s identifying information and sign Form 272.00 
authorizing the Court to conduct a background check on the minor.  The Court will 
complete a background check prior to the hearing. 

At the time of 
initial filing 
 

Judgment Entry Setting Hearing and Ordering Notice (Form 21.11)  
The Deputy Clerk shall set the hearing date and enter it on this form.  

At time of 
initial filing  



 

STEP 2: FILING OF FORMS WITH DEPUTY CLERK 

Applicants must apply in person.  Please present to the Deputy Clerk’s desk the completed 
forms.  The Deputy Clerk will review the forms for completeness and provide instruction for 
publication.  The Deputy Clerk will assign a case number and set the application for hearing at 
least thirty days from the date of application. 

STEP 3: SERVICE OF NOTICE  

The Applicant is responsible for providing The Clermont Sun with the Notice of Hearing on 
Change of Name.  The Applicant is responsible for any cost associated with the publication.  The 
publication must occur thirty days prior to the hearing. 

The Applicant is responsible for ensuring service of Notice of the Hearing.  Prior to the hearing, 
the Applicant must complete and present to the Court for filing an Affidavit in Proof of Service 
(Form 200.10) and either attach a copy of the Notice to Parent with the return receipt, evidencing 
delivery by certified mail; or mark service by ordinary mail with the original envelope marked 
unclaimed or refused attached. Should the Post Office return the certified or ordinary mail stating 
that it was unable to forward, address, unknown, unable to deliver, or other statement of failure 
of delivery, an Applicant will file an Affidavit For Unknown Address of Parent (Form 116.40).  
The Applicant must exercise due diligence in attempting to locate a valid address for the parent 
by contacting friends, relatives, employers, associates of the parent and by searching the internet, 
court data bases, phone books, or other indexes.  The affidavit should be filed as soon as 
practicable before the hearing. The Court will then determine if the Applicant has provided 
sufficient notice to the parent.   

STEP 4: THE HEARING – WHAT TO EXPECT 

A HEARING CANNOT GO FORWARD WITHOUT EITHER SERVICE OR CONSENT 

On the date of the hearing, the minor (7 years old and older) and the Applicant shall appear 
before the Magistrate.  The Applicant will provide to the Deputy Clerk, if not already provided, 
proof of service on the non-consenting parent or an affidavit for the unknown address of the 
parent.  

Uncontested Hearing – The Magistrate will ask the Applicant and the minor, if of suitable age, 
questions regarding the application and will decide whether or not the name change should be 
granted.    

Contested Hearing – The Magistrate will conduct a hearing and will permit the parties to provide 
testimony and any exhibits.  The Magistrate will issue a Decision. The Judge will review the 
Decision and issue a Judgment Entry no sooner than 14 days after the filing of the Magistrate’s 
Decision.   

STEP 5: FINAL JUDGMENT GRANTING NAME CHANGE  



The Court will issue a final judgment granting the name change.  The Entry is proof that the 
Applicant has legally changed the minor’s name.  If you require certified copies of the Judgment 
Entry for social security, school, or other purposes, the Deputy Clerk will make the copies of the 
entry and certify the copies at a nominal cost. 

You must send certified copies of the Judgment Entry to the Bureau of Vital Statistics of the 
State that maintains the birth record.  For Ohio births, the certified copy of Judgment Entry along 
with the fee should be mailed to: Bureau of Vital Statistics 246 North High Street P.O. Box 
15098 Columbus, Ohio 43215-0098.  (Contact Vital Statistics at (614) 466-2531 for the current 
cost.) 

 

 

 


